top of page
  • Writer's pictureKylie Po

Chocolate Orange French Toast Bake


Last week, Yellow Bakery PH sent me the most stunning chocolate sourdough loaf with candied orange peels. Once I smelled its wonderful aroma, I immediately thought of using it to whip up some french toast. However, with all my academic assessments piling up, I could not bring myself to wake up 30 minutes earlier in the morning after studying late into the night just to gather the ingredients and make myself some. Therefore, I found a better way to make this vision come true. I decided to make a french toast bake that can be kept in the refrigerator and heated when needed. For this recipe, all you need to do is mix, bake, and store, thus making it a perfect and unique on-the-go breakfast recipe for those who have a sweet tooth early in the morning.


You can order your very own sourdough loaf from Yellow Bakery PH.


Recipe

Yields 10-12 servings

Ingredients

1 chocolate with candied orange peel sourdough loaf

¼ cup butter, melted

6 eggs

1 ½ cups milk

⅓ cup sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

½ teaspoon nutmeg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

¼ teaspoon salt


½ cup powdered sugar

Syrup


Procedure

  • Preheat the oven to 350℉.

  • Slice your bread into 1-cm thick slices.

  • Make the custard by whisking eggs, milk, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla extract, and salt together.

  • Coat a 9”x13” pan with butter.

  • Soak the slices of bread in the custard.

  • Place the slices of bread into the pan, layering them one on top of the other.

  • Cover with foil, and bake this for 40-45 minutes.

  • Once done, sprinkle on some powdered sugar.

  • Serve with syrup and a pat of butter, and enjoy!

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page