top of page
  • Writer's pictureKylie Po

Honey Butter Cornbread



On a random Tuesday, my family drove to Subic to go grocery shopping. Well, that was not entirely why we went there, but we did stop by the supermarket. Afterward, we ate in a restaurant that served Southern cuisine. When I opened the menu, I ignored all the pictures of the juiciest-looking racks of ribs and beef brisket because the one thing on the menu that caught my eye was a cornbread loaf that did not even have an image. We ordered it, and to my surprise, finished the entire thing all by myself. Since I fell in love with its texture and subtle sweetness, I had to make a homemade version and satisfy my cornbread cravings.


Recipe

Yields 14 servings

Ingredients

Cornbread

1 ½ cup cornmeal

½ cup all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

1 ½ cups buttermilk (1 ½ cups warm milk and 1 ½ tablespoon vinegar or lemon juice)

2 eggs

¼ cup butter

Extra butter to coat the pan


Honey Butter Glaze

¼ cup melted butter

2 tablespoons honey


Procedure

  • Preheat the oven to 400℉.

  • Butter a muffin tin.

  • Mix cornmeal, flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together.

  • In another bowl, combine buttermilk, eggs, and melted butter.

  • Slowly stir the wet ingredients into the dry.

  • Pour the batter into the muffin tin.

  • Bake them for 15 minutes.

  • Once done, let them cool, serve, and enjoy!

87 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page